CITES National Ivory Action Plans

CITES national ivory action plans (NIAPs) are a practical tool that is being used by the Convention in a number of its member States, categorised as Parties of ‘primary concern’, Parties of ‘secondary concern’ and Parties of ‘importance to watch’, to strengthen their controls of the trade in ivory and ivory markets, and help combat the illegal trade in ivory. These NIAPs were developed in compliance with recommendations endorsed by the CITES Standing Committee.

Each plan outlines the urgent measures that a CITES Party commits to deliver – including legislative, enforcement and public awareness actions as required – along with specified timeframes and milestones for implementation.

While the plans may follow a common formula of actions, timeframes and milestones, each national ivory action plan is unique. A plan should identify the actions that are of highest priority for a particular Party to help combat the illegal ivory trade, depending upon the Party’s own circumstances including its capacity-building needs, the extent of available resources, and the scale and nature of illegal trade and whether the Party is a source, transit or destination State for illegal ivory.

Parties of 'secondary concern'

  • Cameroon
  • Congo
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria


NIAPs and Progress reports

Parties of 'importance to watch'

  • Angola
  • Cambodia
  • Lao People’s Democratic Republic


NIAPs and Progress reports

Parties of primary concern, secondary concern and importance to watch


Map legend

Parties of

  Primary concern
Secondary concern
  Importance to watch